Open more news

Thursday, 1, January 1970

read more »

Phillip Island:

Track image of Phillip Island

Circuit info

Length: 4.448 m / 2.764 miles

Width: 13m

Left corners: 7

Right corners: 5

Longest straight: 900 m / 0.559 miles

Constructed: 1956

Modified: 1988

Race Length: MotoGP Moto2 Moto3
Laps 2/3 of laps Total Distance
27 - 120.1 km - 74.6 miles


Phillip Island, the self-styled home of Australian motorsport, is steeped in motor racing tradition, with the first car races having been held there on public roads in the 1920s. The first motorcycle races took place in 1931 and a permanent track was built in 1956. The circuit fell into disrepair during the late 70s and early 80s until it was bought in 1985 and given a AUS $5m facelift. MotoGP returned in 1989 and 1990 before becoming a regular fixture once more from 1997 onwards.

The Phillip Island circuit is blessed with breathtaking scenery and beautiful ocean views and, as one of the fastest, most fluid, tracks on the calendar, it continues to provide some of the most spectacular racing in the MotoGP season.

Records Season Rider Motorcycle Time Speed
Fastest Lap2013Jorge LORENZO (SPA)Yamaha1'27.899182.1 km/h
Circuit Record2013Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)Honda1'28.108181.7 km/h
Best Pole2013Jorge LORENZO (SPA)Yamaha1'27.899182.1 km/h
Top Speed2013Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)Honda340.9 km/h
Fastest Lap2013Pol ESPARGARO (SPA)Kalex1'32.530173.0 km/h
Circuit Record2013Alex DE ANGELIS (RSM)Speed Up1'32.814172.5 km/h
Best Pole2013Pol ESPARGARO (SPA)Kalex1'32.530173.0 km/h
Top Speed2013Sandro CORTESE (GER)Kalex296.8 km/h
Fastest Lap2013Maverick VIÑALES (SPA)KTM1'36.650165.6 km/h
Circuit Record2013Alex MARQUEZ (SPA)KTM1'37.073164.9 km/h
Best Pole2013Luis SALOM (SPA)KTM1'36.890165.2 km/h
Top Speed2013Alex MARQUEZ (SPA)KTM249.4 km/h

1997 - Event Results


1ndCRIVILLE A.SPA42'53.362
2dAOKI T.JPN+2.268
3dABE N.JPN+28.119


1ndWALDMANN R.GER40'09.735
2dBIAGGI M.ITA+5.829
3dJACQUE O.FRA+27.251


1ndUEDA N.JPN38'59.797
2dSAKATA K.JPN+1.366
3dMANAKO T.JPN+1.866