New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Spanish glory days return to Jerez

Spanish glory days return to Jerez

Spanish glory days return to Jerez

Aside from the importance of clinching maximum points at the Gran Premio Marlboro de España, establishing him as the early leader of the MotoGP World Championship, Sete Gibernau's victory at Jerez last Sunday re-established a lost tradition of home winners at the Spanish circuit.

A fresh-faced Alex Crivillé stepped up to the podium in 1993 when he finished third behind Kevin Schwantz and Wayne Rainey in the 500cc race, but the first Spaniard to make the top step was Alberto Puig in 1995, holding off Luca Cadalora and Crivillé to take victory.

In 1996 Mick Doohan, the dominant force in MotoGP during the 90s, took victory at Jerez on the way to the second of his five world titles, but the following season saw the start of three years of Spanish success at the hands of his Repsol Honda team-mate.

Alex Crivillé took his first win at Jerez in 1997 ahead of Doohan and Tady Okada, a feat he would repeat one year later ahead of Doohan and Max Biaggi. Crivillé completed his hat-trick in 1999, when he was joined on the podium by Biaggi and Gibernau, the two men who would return to battle for victory five years later.

Since then, Spanish celebrations have been limited to a second place for Carlos Checa in 2000 and a final podium for Crivillé, who took third in 2001, up until Gibernau's glorious victory in the rain last week which rewarded the 125,000 fanatical home fans who had braved the conditions.

Relive the best of Spanish racing at Jerez by clicking the link at the top of the page.

MotoGP, 2004

Other updates you may be interested in ›