New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Le Mans

Last year at Le Mans

Last year at Le Mans

Last season's 250cc race at Le Mans saw Toni Elias clinch his second Grand Prix victory in succession, following on from his home victory two weeks previously at Jerez. Elias took the holeshot but was passed by local favourite Randy De Puniet on lap four and the Frenchman started to clock some fast laps to try and break the tow.

Elias hovered in his shadow and made an incredibly audacious move that nearly caused both to crash on lap 16, before making his break from a clearly ruffled De Puniet.

Early action witnessed a clash between Manuel Poggiali and Sebas Porto that put both into the gravel, World Championship leader Poggiali running deep into a right hand bend and clipping the rear of Porto's Honda. Moments later Franco Battaini pushed Fonsi Nieto off the circuit while taking third position.

Nieto returned to star in an entertaining battle with Roby Rolfo, Sylvain Guintoli and Naoki Matsudo for third place, Rolfo making an aggressive pass on the Spaniard on the final lap to clinch third place after Franco Battaini had crashed out of a potential podium position.

Matsudo took fifth behind Nieto, followed by Guintoli, Ant West, Alex Debon, Christian Gemmel and Joan Olive.


Other updates you may be interested in ›