New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Le Mans

Last year at Le Mans

Last year at Le Mans

Last season's MotoGP race at Le Mans saw Sete Gibernau clinch his second victory of the season after battling with Valentino Rossi in an awesome finale to a race that had been halted by the onset of rain and forced to restart.

The Spaniard had the French crowd on their feet after trading positions with the Italian several times in the last five or six corners and held on to win the Grand Prix under new rules that saw the abolishment of the combined times procedure and resulted in a 13 lap chase for the line.

The positions in the first race, which was being led by Rossi with Tohru Ukawa, Max Biaggi, Alex Barros and Sete Gibernau disputing second, determined the ranking on the grid for the second leg. Yamaha rider Barros got the best start from the depleted grid, with some riders starting from pit-lane after late tyre gambles, and battled with Rossi and Gibernau until the Honda pair made a late break.

Olivier Jacque and Max Biaggi, two of the riders to start from pit-lane, took fourth and fifth whilst Jeremy McWilliams clinched sixth on the two-stroke Proton KR3.


Other updates you may be interested in ›