New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Assen

Last year at Assen

Last year at Assen

Sete Gibernau continued his surprise challenge for the MotoGP World Championship with his third win of the season at Assen last year. After the rain had ceased for a period in the afternoon the MotoGP race was declared ‘dry' only for the dark skies to open once more on the warm-up lap.

The start time was put back to allow riders to switch to full wet tyres and the water then fell with venom from the loaded clouds, reducing visibility to a matter of metres.

A fascinating contest for half of the race between Gibernau and Max Biaggi was shaping into a very close and interesting game of ‘cat and mouse' until the pair ran into back-markers and Biaggi was baulked by Garry McCoy, losing precious seconds and effectively the chance of victory.

However the Italian's runner-up spot represented the first time he had beaten Rossi that season as the World Champion suffered from a poor start and was never in contention for the top step of the podium.

Troy Bayliss showed some decent speed in the early stages and relegated Rossi to fourth until a low speed crash dropped him down the order. Rossi clinched third place whilst Bayliss restarted and eventually worked his way back into the race to claim ninth.

Carlos Checa finished fourth after a tussle with Nori Haga on the Aprilia ended two laps before the chequered flag when the Japanese rider high-sided into the gravel.

Olivier Jacque, Loris Capirossi, Colin Edwards and Alex Barros followed whilst Alex Hofmann gave the Kawasaki a fine tenth position.


Other updates you may be interested in ›