New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

De Puniet leads Aprilia charge

De Puniet leads Aprilia charge

De Puniet leads Aprilia charge

Randy De Puniet led a trio of factory Aprilia riders at the top of the 250cc time sheets, smashing the pole position record by over half a second to hold off Manuel Poggiali and Sebastian Porto for the front slot on the provisional grid. De Puniet's time of 1'52.929 was 0.528 seconds quicker than Toni Elías' previous record and was enough to hold off Poggiali by the slim margin of 0.052 seconds.

Dani Pedrosa was the fastest Honda, edging out Elías for the final provisional front row slot in fourth place on his first visit to the Nelson Piquet circuit with the quarter-litre machine. Privateer Aprilia riders Franco Battaini and Sylvain Guintoli were sixth and seventh fastest respectively whilst their Campetella Racing team-mate Joan Olivé, who was fourth quickest in the morning session, failed to qualify after crashing on his second lap out.

Elías' Honda team-mate Roberto Rolfo completes the provisional second row in eighth place, with factory Aprilia riders Fonsi Nieto and Alex De Angelis settling for the third row ahead of Alex Debón and Anthony West.

250cc, 2004

Other updates you may be interested in ›