Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Sachsenring

Last year at Sachsenring

Last year at Sachsenring

Roberto Rolfo finally clinched his maiden victory in a memorable 250cc race at Sachsenring last year. After 80 Grand Prix appearances the Italian rider made it to the top of the rostrum in an entertaining battle with Randy De Puniet and Fonsi Nieto.

Rolfo, who had been denied victory twelve months previously when the race was red-flagged due to rain and awarded to Marco Melandri, made a lightening start to leave behind the early presence of pole position setter Sebastian Porto.

The Italian then came under a late spell of pressure from De Puniet and Nieto, who made a strong charge through the field to move into second place, but hung on over the final two laps to take the win by 0.150 seconds.

Manuel Poggiali ruled himself out of the running midway through the race with a low speed crash in turn one, recovering to take eighth place but seeing his championship lead reduced to just three points from Nieto, with Rolfo in third and trailing by just seven points.


Other updates you may be interested in ›