New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Brno

Last year at Brno

Last year at Brno

The Gauloises Grand Prix Ceske Republiky at Brno last year saw one of the most exciting MotoGP races of the season, with four riders battling for the lead and a stunning finish between the two men fighting for the championship.

Troy Bayliss took the holeshot and led for the opening third of the race, with his Ducati team-mate Loris Capirossi and Honda pair Valentino Rossi and Sete Gibernau giving chase. The quartet switched positions and lines with regularity; power-sliding their way around the circuit with breathtaking ease, but four became three on lap 13 as Capirossi was forced to retire with a mechanical problem.

A series of errors by Rossi allowed Bayliss and Gibernau to lead on several occasions, but the World Champion showed great determination to increase the pace on the final two laps, dropping Bayliss from the chase and gaining revenge on Gibernau in a close finish which banished the memory of defeat to the Spaniard at the Sachsenring two weeks earlier.

Max Biaggi, who had previously won on seven occasions at Brno, had been a distant member of the group at the front but was never a serious threat and a mistake dropped him to fifth behind top Yamaha rider Carlos Checa.

Rossi's triumph was his first in four races and proved to be the turning point in his season, taking five more victories from the last six races to secure the title.


Other updates you may be interested in ›