New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Motegi

Last year at Motegi

Last year at Motegi

Toni Elias streaked to his fourth victory of the season in the 250cc race at Motegi last year, burying the nightmare of a crash in the previous round in Brazil which virtually ended his chances of winning the title.

The young Spaniard showed no flaws on this occasion as he got a great start from pole position and built up a comfortable lead. The battle for the remaining podium positions raged behind, with Sebastian Porto high-siding out of an epic tussle with Roby Rolfo and Manuel Poggiali just five laps from the end.

Poggiali took control and looked on course for second place until an impeccable finish from Rolfo, who overtook Poggiali and then set his fastest lap of the race with the chequered flag in sight to seal second place.

Wildcard riders Hiroshi Aoyama and Yuki Takahashi provided an entertaining battle for fourth, with Takahashi avenging his last lap defeat to Aoyama for second place at Suzuka earlier this season with a similarly timed manoeuvre.

Randy de Puniet could not add to his haul of podiums but brushed aside a painful heel to cross the line sixth ahead of Naoki Matsudo, whilst Fonsi Nieto was a lowly eighth in front of countryman Alex Debon.

Relive the 250cc race at Motegi last year by clicking on the video highlights at the top of the page.


Other updates you may be interested in ›