New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Interesting facts ahead of the race

Interesting facts ahead of the race

Interesting facts ahead of the race

> Dani Pedrosa, who won the 125cc race at Motegi in 2002, starts from pole position for the third time in 2004.

> This is the third consecutive year Pedrosa has started from pole at Motegi, having been on pole in the 125cc class at this circuit for the last two years.

> Pedrosa's pole position time is the fastest ever lap of the Motegi circuit by a 250cc machine, beating the previous record set by Shinya Nakano on the last lap of the race in 2000.

> Hiroshi Aoyama starts from his best grid position since becoming a full-time Grand Prix rider at the start of 2004.

> This is the first time that Honda riders have taken the top two positions on the grid in the 250cc class since Sachsenring last year.

> Toni Elias, who won his first race of 2004 at Estoril, has also won at Motegi for the last two years.

> Sebastian Porto has failed to qualify on the front row of the grid for the first time in 2004.

> Yuki Takahashi has finished no lower than 4th in each of his three wildcard rides in the 250cc class.

> Takahashi's third place finish at Motegi in 2002 made him the third youngest ever podium finisher in the 250cc class behind Marco Melandri and Mike Hailwood.


Other updates you may be interested in ›