New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Celebrate the closest Grand Prix races of all time

Celebrate the closest Grand Prix races of all time

Celebrate the closest Grand Prix races of all time

Jorge Lorenzo's photo finish victory over Andrea Dovizioso at Qatar on Saturday was the first ever Grand Prix in which the time-keepers have been unable to separate the first two riders across the line since the introduction of timing to thousandths of a second, making it officially the closest race ever recorded.

However, since the World Championship began back in 1949 there have been six other occasions in which the two riders across the line have been given the same time:

250cc/Italy/1952/Monza – Enrico Lorenzetti/Werner Haas (timing to 0.1 sec)
250cc/Italy/1959/Monza – Carlo Ubbiali/Ernst Degner (timing to 0.1 sec)
125cc/Ulster GP/1962/Dundrod – Luigi Taveri/Tommy Robb (timing to 0.1 sec)
500cc/Dutch TT/1975/Assen – Barry Sheene/Giacomo Agostini (timing to 0.1 sec)
250cc/Italy/1978/Mugello – Kork Ballington/Greg Hansford (timing to 0.1 sec)
125cc/Yugoslavia/1981/Rijeka – Loris Reggiani/Pierpaolo Bianchi (timing to 0.1 sec)

The closest race, in each of the three current classes, since the introduction of the current timing system to 0.001 sec are as follows:

250cc/Czech/1989/Brno – Reinhold Roth/Masahiro Shimizu – 0.001 sec
500cc/Czech/1996/Brno – Alex Criville/Mick Doohan – 0.002 sec
125cc/Italy/1995/Mugello – Haruchika Aoki/Stefano Perugini – 0.004 sec
also 125cc/Austria/1997/A1-Ring – Noboru Ueda/Valentino Rossi – 0.004 sec

Relive some of the closest Grand Prix finishes of all time by clicking on the video links at the top of the page. To see Lorenzo and Dovizioso's stunning battle on Saturday, simply click on the link to the video section on the left of the page.


Other updates you may be interested in ›