New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Phillip Island

Last year at Phillip Island

Last year at Phillip Island

Roberto Rolfo won the second Grand Prix of his career at Philip Island last year after leading from the first corner until the last. The Italian produced an exemplary performance on his Honda and with World Championship leader Manuel Poggiali struggling to ninth in the conditions, taking the chase for the title to the final round at Valencia.

Behind Rolfo and a popular result for Anthony West in second place, Fonsi Nieto and Randy de Puniet engaged in a duel for over 20 laps for the final podium place, clattering seagulls on their way, until De Puniet crashed out unhurt at high speed on the penultimate lap. Franco Battaini completed a remarkable race after slipping off in the soaked early stages but then remounting and storming through to secure fourth.

Alex Debon was fifth with his best result of the year, in front of Naoki Matsudo and Erwan Nigon in seventh, whilst Sebastián Porto shot straight off across the grass on the first corner of the race and came back from last place to sixth before crashing.


Other updates you may be interested in ›