New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Vote for the best race of the season

Vote for the best race of the season

Vote for the best race of the season

The 2004 MotoGP World Championship was one of the most spectacular in history, with close finishes, thrilling battles and record-breaking results. Each chapter of the 16-round season had its own story and contributed to an unforgettable year which will live long in the memory of MotoGP fans around the world.

It's a virtually impossible to rate one race above the other, but here at we have picked out our top four races of the season. Now it is down to you to choose your favourite, with the highlights and full race video of the winning Grand Prix to be offered free of charge when voting closes on 1st January.

The candidates are:

1. Africa's Grand Prix

Valentino Rossi stuns the world by taking victory on his Yamaha debut in a thrilling battle with his great rival Max Biaggi, becoming the first rider in history to win consecutive MotoGP races with different factories.

2. Gran Premio Cinzano d'Italia

Rossi takes victory at his home Grand Prix after a stunning double race caused by a brief rain shower just six laps from the end. Treacherous conditions in the second race saw Norick Abe, Troy Bayliss and Ruben Xaus take turns at the front before Rossi regained control, later describing it as: "probably my best ever Grand Prix result and the best day of my life."

3. Marlboro Grand Prix of Qatar

The inaugural race at the Losail International Circuit was without doubt the most controversial of the season. Valentino Rossi and Max Biaggi were forced to start from the back of the grid after their teams were penalised for cleaning their starting positions, with Rossi launching an incredible fight-back only to crash out, leaving Sete Gibernau to take a clear victory and narrow the gap at the top of the championship.

4. Cinzano Australian Grand Prix

Rossi's record-breaking first season with Yamaha reaches a breathtaking climax as a final-corner victory over Sete Gibernau at Phillip Island makes him the first rider to win the MotoGP World Championship for the Japanese factory since Wayne Rainey in 1992. Rossi's joy came at the end of a hard-fought race with Gibernau, Loris Capirossi and Troy Bayliss all fighting it out for the lead in the opening laps before the intense final head-to-head.

Click on the survey at the left of the page to register your vote.

MotoGP, 2004

Other updates you may be interested in ›