Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Rossi in line for the Laureus Award

Rossi in line for the Laureus Award

Rossi in line for the Laureus Award

MotoGP World Champion Valentino Rossi has been nominated for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award, recognised as the premier honour on the international sporting calendar.

Last year, Rossi successfully defended his title in the premier class and became the first rider to win the MotoGP World Championship on a Yamaha since Wayne Rainey in 1992. The Italian completed an amazing first year with the Japanese factory after a controversial switch from their great rivals Honda: he scored nine victories and took his fourth consecutive MotoGP title.

Rossi will be up for the award against five others: American youngster Michael Phelps, who took six swimming gold medals at Athens 2004 Olympic Games, but also Hicham El Guerrouj who became the first man in 80 years to win both the 1,500 metres and the 5,000 metres at the Olympic Games, American Lance Armstrong, winner of a record sixth successive Tour de France in 2004, Switzerland's accomplished world tennis No.1 Roger Federer, winner of three Grand Slam tennis events in 2004, Germany's Michael Schumacher, winner of his seventh Formula One World Championship.

The name of the winner, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, will be unveiled during a televised Awards Ceremony staged at Estoril, Portugal, on the evening of May 16, 2005.

MotoGP, 2005, Valentino Rossi

Other updates you may be interested in ›