Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Biaggi set for his 200th Grand Prix

Biaggi set for his 200th Grand Prix

Biaggi set for his 200th Grand Prix

When the Chinese GP takes place on May 1st, it will mark Max Biaggi´s 200th Grand Prix race. Biaggi made his debut back in 1991 at the Jarama circuit in Spain for the 250cc Grand prix of Europe.

Biaggi made three further appearances in 1991, the year he won the 250cc European Championship, before joining the Grand Prix series full time riding for Aprilia in 1992, when he won the final race of the year at Kyalami in South Africa. In 1993 he moved to Honda, winning a single race during the season before going back to race for Aprilia in 1994.

After taking three successive 250cc World Titles for Aprilia, he returned to Honda to win a fourth and final time. Biaggi transferred to the premier-class in 1998 and won his debut ride on a Honda at Suzuka in Japan. In 1999 he signed for Yamaha and stayed through to 2002 before once more going back to Honda in 2003. Biaggi has become the third present day rider to pass the milestone of 200 GP starts, the others being Alex Barros and Loris Capirossi.

During his career Biaggi has set a number of records in Grand Prix racing:

- Biaggi is the only rider ever to win four consecutive 250cc World Titles.

- He is the only rider to win back-to-back titles in the 250cc class on bikes from different manufacturers.

- During the 1995/96 seasons Biaggi set a new record of seventeen consecutive podium finishes in the 250cc class.

- When he won at Suzuka in 1998 he became the first rider in 25 years to have won on his debut in the premier-class. The previous rider to achieve this was Jarno Saarinen who won the French GP at Paul Ricard in 1973.

- Biaggi has scored 13 victories in the premier-class. This places him equal with Randy Mamola as the two riders with most victories in the premier-class without having won the world title.

- These 13 victories in the premier-class have been achieved riding four different types of machinery: Honda 4-cylinder 2-stroke, Yamaha 4-cylinder 2-stroke, Yamaha 4-cylinder 4-stroke, Honda 5-cylinder 4-stroke.

- The last time that Biaggi missed starting a GP event was the French round in 1992 when his bike failed on the warm-up lap and he did not make the start. Since then he has started at a record 186 consecutive Grand Prix events.

- Biaggi scored a total of 29 victories in the 250cc class; Anton Mang is the only rider who has more with 33.


Other updates you may be interested in ›