New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Michelin, 30 years in MotoGP – Part III

Michelin, 30 years in MotoGP – Part III

Michelin, 30 years in MotoGP – Part III

The eighties was a sensational decade for Michelin on the motorcycling scene and the next decade confirmed that they had perfectly mastered their groundbreaking innovations, with nine further World Championship crowns.

It was a legendary era which saw Wayne Rainey (Marlboro Team Roberts Yamaha YZR500), Kevin Schwantz (Lucky Strike Suzuki RGV500), Mick Doohan (Repsol Honda NSR500) and Alex Crivillé (Repsol Honda NSR500) successively taking the honours.

The progress made during the last decade of the 20th century proved more subtle, but saw major improvements with regard to cornering speeds. After the titles clinched by Rainey and Schwantz, Mick Doohan took five consecutive titles, setting a new record in the premier class. He gave Michelin their 200th win in October 1996.

"With Michelin, we understood each other really well," says Doohan. "This trustfulness is needed when you have to step into the unknown. Before trying something unusual, the engineers always told me to be careful, especially if they thought the tyres could be unpredictable. Michelin, more than any other manufacturer, has this quality assurance and this consistency."

The fourth and final part of the Michelin series will be available tomorrow at

MotoGP, 2005

Other updates you may be interested in ›