New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Mugello facts and figures

Mugello facts and figures

Mugello facts and figures

This week, it will be the 20th occasion that a GP has been held at Mugello, including the fifteenth time in the consecutive years from 1991. Some great races have taken place at this circuit and some of the facts and figures from these are given below:

- There have been 69 Grand Prix events held in Italy using four different circuits; Monza which has been used 27 times, Mugello (19), Imola (13) and Misano (10).

- Italy, together with The Netherlands and Great Britain are the only three countries that have hosted a motorcycle Grand Prix event in each year since the motorcycling world championship series started in 1949.

- The first time a Grand Prix event was held at Mugello was in 1976 when the premier-class race was won by Barry Sheene riding a Suzuki. This was at a time when Suzuki riders dominated and the first non-Suzuki rider home was 10th place rider Waerum Borge Nielsen in tenth place. This race was won by Sheene by a margin of 0.1 sec from Phil Read in one of the closest finishes of all time, in a race lasting over 62 minutes.

- Since that first event, Suzuki have won just once more at Mugello, with Kevin Schwantz in 1992.

- The win by Rossi last year ended a run of eleven successive years of Honda riders taking the victory at Mugello. This was also the third victory by a Yamaha rider, the others coming in 1978 with Kenny Roberts and 1991 with Wayne Rainey.

- The rider who has had most wins at Mugello is Mick Doohan with six, which all came in the premier-class in successive years between 1993 and 1998.

- The second most successful rider at Mugello is Valentino Rossi, who has had five wins at the circuit – three in the premier-class and one in each of the 250cc and 125cc classes. Rossi is the only rider to have scored wins in all three of the current GP classes at the circuit.

- The only Italian rider to win at Mugello in the premier-class other than Rossi is Loris Capirossi who took the victory in 2000 to become the very first Italian to win in the premier-class at Mugello.

- Max Biaggi has had most podium finishes at Mugello, having finished in the top three on ten occasions – six times in the premier-class and four times in the 250cc class.

- There has been at least one Italian rider on the podium in the premier-class at Mugello for the last nine years.

- Mugello is the circuit that has the highest recorded maximum speed with a best last year of 343 kph (213.1 mph) set by Alex Barros on his factory Honda.


Other updates you may be interested in ›