Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

The Catedral history in facts and figures

The Catedral history in facts and figures

The Catedral history in facts and figures

Assen is the only venue that has hosted a Grand Prix event every year since the motorcycle World Championship Grand Prix series began back in 1949. Below are some facts and figures from the 56 Grand Prix meetings that have been held at the circuit:

- There have been a total of 226 Grand Prix races for solo motorcycles held at the Assen circuit.

- Honda have been the most successful manufacturer having scored a total of 53 GP victories in all of the different classes, followed by MV-Agusta with 36 and Yamaha with 30.

- Honda are also the most successful manufacturer in the premier-class at Assen with 16 victories, just one more than MV-Agusta.

- Italy is the most successful nation at the Assen circuit, having scored a total of 67 wins, followed by Great Britain with 43 victories. In the premier-class both Italy and Great Britain have had 16 victories at Assen.

- There have been 107 different Grand Prix winners at the Assen circuit.

- The rider with most GP victories at Assen is Angel Nieto with 15 wins in the 125cc and 50cc classes, followed by Giacomo Agostini who recorded 14 triumphs riding 500cc and 350cc machines.

- Giacomo Agostini is the most successful rider in the premier-class with six victories, followed by Mick Doohan with five. Both Agostini and Doohan won at Assen five years in succession.

- The longest Grand Prix ever held at Assen was the 500cc race in 1950 which was run over 18 laps. At that time the circuit was over 16.5 km long, giving a total race distance of 297 km. The race was won by Umberto Masetti riding a Gilera in a time of 2 hours and 43.2 seconds at an average speed of 148 km/h.

- The very first World Championship Grand Prix race held at Assen was the 350cc race in 1949 which was won by British rider Freddie Frith, who also owned all the four other GP races in the 350cc class in 1949 before retiring at the end of the year as World Champion.

- The youngest rider to win a GP at Assen is Marco Melandri who was still fifteen years old when he took his debut victory in the 1998 125cc race. The oldest rider ever to win a GP at Assen is Fergus Anderson who was 45 years old when he took the 350cc race in 1954.

- Four Dutch riders have won Grand Prix at their home circuit; Paul Lodewijkx the 50cc race in 1968, Wil Hartog the 500cc race in 1977, Jack Middelburg the 500cc race in 1980 and Hans Spaan the 125cc race in 1989.


Other updates you may be interested in ›