New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

The survivors of Laguna Seca ‘94

The survivors of Laguna Seca ‘94

The survivors of Laguna Seca ‘94

Few are the riders in the MotoGP World Championship to have first-hand experience riding at Laguna Seca, the Californian circuit soon to play host to round eight of the 2005 MotoGP World Championship.

Only a handful of today's racing stars had entered the lightning fast world of two- wheeled speed machines when the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca last featured in the Motorcycle World Championship calendar during the early 90's.

Brazilian veteran Alex Barros is the only MotoGP rider to have actually competed in the premier class at the Mazda Raceway, stepping up to the podium after taking second place in the 500cc race – the premier class of the time- aboard a Suzuki. The race was won by local hero John Kocinski, riding a Cagiva. One year later – in the last North American date, Barros finished in eighth position.

Stealing the glory in the history of the present day riders to have made their mark at the challenging 2.238-mile Californian track, Loris Capirossi is the only rider to have first-hand experience of winning at the Mazda Raceway. The Italian won the 250cc race in 1993, while competing against his present day MotoGP rivals Kenny Roberts and Carlos Checa – the American and Spaniard finishing 10th and 14 respectively.

Max Biaggi is another of the few present day riders to have savoured success at the Californian track, taking a heady sip from the goblet of fame in 1994 when he rose to the podium in second place behind fellow countryman Doriano Romboni.

Success was destined to continue for Biaggi that year as he went on to claim his first four titles in the quarter litre class.


Other updates you may be interested in ›