New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

History of the American GP, facts and figures

History of the American GP, facts and figures

History of the American GP, facts and figures

Although in recent years there has not been a GP held in the USA, the country has previously played host to a total of eight Grand Prix events. Before motorcycle racing returns after more than 10 years away, here are some essential facts and figures about the previous premier-class races:

- The first two GP events held in the United States in 1964 and 1965 took place at the Daytona circuit and both were won by Mike Hailwood.

- After a twenty-two-year break the Grand Prix circus returned to the USA in 1988 at Laguna Seca and ran through to 1994, with the exception of 1992.

- Of the six premier-class races held at Laguna Seca, the only non-American rider to have won is Luca Cadalora.

- Yamaha riders have taken five victories at Laguna: Eddie Lawson in 1988, Wayne Rainey in 1989, 1990 & 1991 and Luca Cadalora in 1994. The only other successful manufacturer was Cagiva in 1993 with John Kocinski.

- Honda has never had a victory in the premier-class at Laguna Seca; their best results being second place with Wayne Gardner in 1988 and Mick Doohan in both 1990 and 1991.

- Suzuki has had riders finish on the podium on three occasions at Laguna: Kevin Schwantz in 1989 & 1991 and Alex Barros in 1993.

- Of the 18 podium positions available from the six premier-class GP races held at Laguna, exactly 50 percent of them have been taken by riders from the US. At least one rider from the USA has finished on the podium in each of the previous premier-class GP's at Laguna Seca.

- Yamaha and the USA have had three pole positions at Laguna Seca, with Wayne Rainey in 1988, 1989 and 1991. Australia and Honda have also had three pole positions with Wayne Gardner in 1990 and Mick Doohan in 1993 and 1994.


Other updates you may be interested in ›