New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

US stars gunning for home glory

US stars gunning for home glory

US stars gunning for home glory

Colin Edwards, Nicky Hayden, John Hopkins and Kenny Roberts will form the American contingent this weekend at Laguna Seca for the Red Bull US Grand Prix, and all four will aim for an outstanding result at their home race.

The last American rider to win a Grand Prix was Kenny Roberts at the Pacific GP at Motegi in 2000. This seventy-two-race string is the longest run of successive races in the premier class without a rider from the USA taking a victory since Pat Hennen scored the first win by an American rider at the Grand Prix of Finland at Imatra in 1976. In total, American riders have scored 150 victories in the premier class, only Italy have had more wins with 176. As a Nation the USA has the record for the longest string of successive victories in the premier class with 28 over the years 1982/83/84/85; with Freddie Spencer, Randy Mamola, Kenny Roberts and Eddie Lawson forming the streak.

Italy has the second-longest string of victories with 21 over the 1968/69 seasons; with Agostini taking 20 GPs followed by a single victory by Alberto Pagani.


Other updates you may be interested in ›