Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

The facts and figures from Brno

The facts and figures from Brno

The facts and figures from Brno

The current Brno circuit was first used for Grand Prix racing in 1987 and was built to replace the original road circuit that had become too dangerous for world championship racing. Below are some facts and figures from the 35 previous Grand Prix meetings held at Brno:

> The very first Grand Prix event at Brno was held in 1965 on the original 13.94 km long road circuit. Three all-time greats of motorcycle racing won that first year; nine times World Champion Mike Hailwood in the 500cc race on a MV-Agusta, six times champion Jim Redman in the 350s on a Honda and seven times World Champion Phil Read won the 250cc race on a Yamaha.

> At the following year's event Mike Hailwood achieved the incredible feat of winning three Grand Prix races in one day, the 500cc, 350cc and 250cc competitions, all on Honda machinery. The combined distance of these three races was 460 km which was covered in a total time of 2 hours 55 minutes and 53 seconds.

> Giacomo Agostini was the most successful rider on the Brno road circuit with a total of seven victories including four in the premier-class.

> The first rider to win the premier-class race at Brno on a two-stroke machine was John Newbold, who took his one and only GP victory at the Czech GP in 1976 riding a Suzuki.

> Johnny Cecotto, riding a Yamaha, won the last premier-class race held on the road circuit at Brno in 1977. The circuit, which had been reduced in length to 10.92 km, was subsequently considered unsafe for the large capacity machines.

> Smaller capacity motorcycles continued to compete in Grand Prix races on the Brno road circuit until 1982 before it was deleted from the Grand Prix calendar for safety reasons.

> The current circuit was first used for Grand Prix racing in 1987 and has been used every year since with the exception of 1992.

> This year will be the 36th time a Grand Prix meeting has been held at Brno, originally as the Czechoslovakian GP, and since 1993 as the GP of the Czech Republic.

> Max Biaggi is the most successful rider at the current Brno circuit having won the 250cc race on four occasions and in the premier-class three times. Valentino Rossi is the second most successful with four victories; 1 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc and 2 x premier-class.

> The youngest rider to win a Grand Prix at Brno is Marco Melandri who claimed the 125cc race in 1998 shortly after celebrating his 16th birthday. The oldest rider to win a GP at Brno is Swiss rider Stefan Dörflinger, who took the 80cc race on the first visit to the current circuit in 1987 at the age of 38.


Other updates you may be interested in ›