New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Angel Nieto nominated for major award

Angel Nieto nominated for major award

Angel Nieto nominated for major award

Ranking amongst the most successful riders in World Championship history, Angel Nieto has now been nominated for the 'Principe de Asturias' Sports Award - a prestigious ceremony that takes place in Oviedo next week.

The 'Principe de Asturias' Awards are held every year to reward major achievements on the international scene in different fields such as science, culture and sport. The forthcoming edition of the ceremony will mark the 25th anniversary of the event, following the inaugural edition in 1981.

A committee will gather on Monday and the winner of the 'Principe de Asturias' Sports Award will be announced on Tuesday. Various disciplines are represented amongst the nominees: golf with Jack Nicklaus, rallying with Carlos Sainz, and football with a number of candidates including Pelé, Maradona, Di Stefano and Beckenbauer.

The 'Principe de Asturias' Awards have included a sports category since 1987. Many international stars including Carl Lewis, Lance Armstrong and Hicham El Guerrouj have been recognised. Spaniard Sito Pons was the first Grand Prix rider to be honoured in 1990 after he secured two consecutive titles in the 250cc class.

Angel Nieto, with six titles in the 50cc class and seven titles in 80/125cc categories, is the second most successful rider in Grand Prix racing history behind Giacomo Agostini with 90 wins.

MotoGP, 2005, Pablo Nieto

Other updates you may be interested in ›