Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Gibernau wins the BMW Award

Gibernau wins the BMW Award

Gibernau wins the BMW Award

Sete Gibernau won the third edition of the BMW Award by taking his fifth pole position of the season at the Ricardo Tormo circuit in Valencia, eventually clinching the trophy with a 3.585s advantage over Valentino Rossi.

The classification of the BMW Award is made up by accumulating the qualifying time of every rider at every Grand Prix, with the addition of the official MotoGP Winter Test session in Catalunya. Any rider who does not complete all 18 events is discarded.

Gibernau has been the outstanding rider in qualifying this year, taking the lead in the BMW Award at the second round of the season at Estoril. He was demoted to second midway through the year when a 13th place at Laguna Seca allowed Rossi to edge ahead of him, but the Spaniard reassumed control when he took pole at Brno, Czech Republic. In the last few rounds he steadily increased his lead and confirmed the honour in fine style by taking two consecutive poles in the last two rounds.

After the qualifying session at the Gran Premio de la Comunitat Valenciana, Gibernau received the keys to a brand new BMW M5, his prize being presented by one of the representatives of the German manufacturer.

Behind second-placed Rossi, Nicky Hayden was finished, just ahead of Marco Melandri, with Colin Edwards completing the top five.


Other updates you may be interested in ›