New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP Awards bring curtain down on season

MotoGP Awards bring curtain down on season

MotoGP Awards bring curtain down on season

A spectacular 2005 MotoGP season concluded on Sunday evening with the traditional MotoGP Awards Ceremony, held at La Petxina Auditorium in Valencia – just a few kilometres from the Ricardo Tormo circuit which this weekend staged the last round of the MotoGP World Championship.

After FIM President Francesco Zerbi had opened the ceremony, the first awards to be handed out were for the ‘Rookies of the Year' which were presented by IRTA President and Camel Honda team manager Sito Pons. The three winners were Tomy Koyama, Andrea Dovizioso and Toni Elias – best newcomers in the 125cc, 250cc and MotoGP classes respectively.

Next up was the Michel Métraux Trophy, awarded to the best 125cc and 250cc privateers. Sylvain Guintoli and Thomas Lüthi took the honours in this category and received their awards from the late IRTA President's son, Olivier Métraux.

The best qualifiers of the season were rewarded; Mika Kallio, with eight poles in the 125cc class, Dani Pedrosa with five poles in the 250s, and Sete Gibernau with five poles in MotoGP received the Tissot Pole of Poles award, presented by Tissot president François Thiebaud. BMW representative Hans Joachim Stuck also officially presented Sete Gibernau with the keys to a brand new M5 which the Spanish rider earned by winning the BMW Award.

FIM President Francesco Zerbi and Road-Racing Commission President Claude Danis presented the World Champions Trophies, first to Austrian manufacturer KTM's representative Stefan Pierer, and to the top three riders: new Champion Thomas Lüthi, runner-up Mika Kallio and third-placed Gabor Talmacsi.

In the quarter litre class, Honda and Dani Pedrosa were crowned for the second consecutive year, while Casey Stoner became vice-champion on the year of his return to the class. In third was last year's 125cc champion Andrea Dovizioso.

The most eagerly awaited part of the ceremony came with presentation of the MotoGP class trophies, with the team and manufacturer trophies handed out first to the Gauloises Yamaha Team and Yamaha Motor representatives Davide Brivio and Toru Hasegawa. Marco Melandri and Nicky Hayden then collected the trophies for second and third in the Championship, before Valentino Rossi made his entrance to receive his fifth consecutive World Champion trophy, the seventh of his career, from Dorna Sports' CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta.


Other updates you may be interested in ›