New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Malaysian GP: Races

Malaysian GP: Races

Malaysian GP: Races

Ducati's Loris Capirossi took his second victory in seven days, winning the Marlboro Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix ahead of Valentino Rossi, who secured his fifth consecutive title in the premier class, the seventh in his GP career.

Starting from pole position, Capirossi rode a brilliant race to fend off Rossi, who came back seventh on grid to move up to 2nd by lap 8. The Gauloises Yamaha briefly took the lead by the mid-point of the race, but Capirossi regained the lead with 8 laps to go.

Later Capirossi built up a comfortable advantage whilst Rossi was threatened by the charge of the other Ducati Marlboro rider, Carlos Checa. The Spaniard pushed hard in the last lap but couldn't attempt a move, finishing just 0.077s adrift from Rossi.

Repsol Honda's Nicky Hayden took fourth after a strong start, ahead of factory colleagues Marco Melandri and Max Biaggi. Kenny Roberts was seventh on the Suzuki GSV-R, followed by Alex Barros and John Hopkins, while Colin Edwards completed the top 10.

Casey Stoner repeated his 2004 win at Sepang, taking a dominant win ahead of Alex de Angelis and Sebastian Porto. The Australian cut back Dani Pedrosa's Championship lead from 63 to 38 points as the Spaniard crashed out of third position in the early stages of the race.

Another former 125 World Champion crashed out of the race earlier: Andrea Dovizioso highsided in the second corner after the start, an incident meaning that the Italian failed to score points for the first time this year.

Stoner quickly escaped the pack to build-up a steady lead ahead of a lonely de Angelis in second. Porto completed the first all-Aprilia podium of the season after beating his team-mate Randy de Puniet and last week's race winner Hiroshi Aoyama. Spaniard Hector Barbera took sixth ahead of Japanese rookie Yuki Takahashi, while 8th-placed Italian veteran Roberto Locatelli scored his best result since his 7th position at the season opener at Jerez. Aprilia privateers Sylvain Guintoli and Taro Sekiguchi completed the top 10.

Thomas Lüthi won the 125cc race, just a week after suffering a heavy crash and a dislocated shoulder in Japan. The Swiss youngster consolidated his Championship lead by winning one of the closest race recorded in recent years as he took the flag just 0.002s ahead of title rival Mika Kallio.

Lüthi led for most of the race; having started from pole position, he briefly conceded the leadership to Kallio in the first couple of corners after the start and hit the front of the pack before the end of the first lap. He quickly escaped a chasing pack formed by the three KTM of Kallio, Talmacsi and Simon. By mid-race Kallio was able to come back in sight of Lüthi, leaving his team-mates dicing for third with Aprilia riders Mattia Pasini and Hector Faubel.

In the late stages of the race, Kallio put up a strong challenge and exerted tremendous pressure on the leader, but Lüthi held his nerve and was able to cross the finish line ahead.

The battle for third saw Pasini emerging victorious of a four-way battle ahead of Faubel, Talmacsi and Simon to secure his first podium since the Dutch TT. Fabrizio Lai finished in sixth ahead of Manuel Poggiali, Marco Simoncelli and Tomy Koyama.

MotoGP, 2006

Other updates you may be interested in ›