New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Turkey GP: Practice

Turkey GP: Practice

Turkey GP: Practice

This week's Re-Live section of the MotoGP Channel takes a trip back in time to last year's Turkish Grand Prix, the inaugral race at the Istanbul Park Circuit. With the title already won by Valentino Rossi, there was still an exciting battle on for the runner-up spot. Today we bring you action from the qualifying sessions from all three MotoGP categories, ahead of tomorrow's race-revision.

Sete Gibernau became the first rider to lap quicker than Marco Melandri on the final lap of an exciting afternoon session snatching pole position from his young team-mate. Gibernau's time of 1'52.334 was enough to secure top spot thanks largely to a mistake from Melandri, who ran wide during his final pole assault after dominating the time sheets throughout the majority of the day.

Nicky Hayden responded to Melandri's challenge by recording the third fastest time of the afternoon session to complete an all-Honda front row. The American was tied on points with the Italian in the battle for second place in the championship.

Alex de Angelis clinched his second pole position of the year in the 250cc category, edging out Australian Casey Stoner in the final qualifying session.

The Australian failed to beat the time set by his Aprilia factory colleague when he made a mistake on his final flying lap. Movistar Honda riders Hiroshi Aoyama and World Champion Dani Pedrosa posted the third and fourth fastest respectively to complete the front row.

125cc World Championship leader Thomas Lüthi secured his fifth pole position of the season, setting an impressive fastest time on his last flying lap of 2'03.585 - almost half a second faster than second-placed Hector Faubel.

Faubel, on an Aprilia, moved into provisional pole position with little more than two minutes of the session remaining, but was unable to prevent the Swiss ace from relegating him to second.

Red Bull KTM's Mika Kallio was also one of the pole contenders but was hindered by slower riders on his last attempt and had to settle for third on the grid. Mattia Pasini completed the front row having posted the fourth fastest time.

MotoGP, 2006

Other updates you may be interested in ›