New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

2005: Talmacsi takes shock 125cc win

2005: Talmacsi takes shock 125cc win

2005: Talmacsi takes shock 125cc win

Gabor Talmacsi took a surprise win in last year's Grand Prix in Losail, overtaking his Red Bull KTM team-mate Mika Kallio in the final straight before taking the chequered flag. The Flying Finn led most of the race after grabbing the holeshot from pole position and dominated the proceedings, closely followed by Talmacsi.

The two KTM riders built up a steady gap over the chasing pack and blazed to the flag unchallenged. Kallio looked set for victory until Talmacsi made his race-winning move to beat the Finn by just 0.017s.

By mid-race, Marco Simoncelli was able to pull away from the chasing pack and then rode a lonely race in third to clinch his fifth podium of the year, almost ten seconds behind the two KTM riders.

Behind the Italian there was a tough battle for fourth which was eventually won by Mike di Meglio, who finished ahead of Hector Faubel and Thomas Lüthi. By taking sixth, the Swiss youngster conceded the championship lead to Kallio by just two points.

Manuel Poggiali was seventh, ahead of Julian Simon, while Italians Mattia Pasini and Fabrizio Lai completed the top 10.


Other updates you may be interested in ›