Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

· Casey Stoner is the second youngest rider ever to start from pole in the premier-class, the youngest being Freddie Spencer at the Spanish GP at Jarama in 1982.

· Stoner is also the first Australian rider to qualify on pole in the premier-class since Gary McCoy at the Portuguese GP at Estoril in 2000.

· Stoner's pole position time is the fastest ever lap of the Losail circuit by a motorcycle, almost one and a quarter seconds faster than the previous pole record set last year by Capirossi.

· The top sixteen riders on the grid have gone faster than the lap record set last year by Nicky Hayden.

· After winning at Jerez, Loris Capirossi is aiming to become the first rider to take back-to-back victories in the opening two races of the year since Valentino Rossi in 2001.

· Toni Elias has qualified on the front row for the first time in the MotoGP class. His previous best was sixth - in Turkey last year and two weeks ago in Spain.

· Nicky Hayden has finished on the podium at the last five successive races.

· If either Dani Pedrosa (20 years 191 days) or Casey Stoner (20 years 174 days) wins the race they will become the youngest ever winner in the class, taking the record from Freddie Spencer who was 20 years 196 days when he took his debut victory at Spa-Francorchamps in 1982.

· If Valentino Rossi fails to finish in the top three it will be the first time since 2004 that he has gone two successive races without a podium. · Geoff Duke (1951) and Umberto Masetti (1952) are the only riders ever to have won the title without scoring podiums in either of the opening two races. · If Valentino Rossi should win he will equal Mick Doohan's tally of 54 victories. Only Giacomo Agostini (68 wins) has had more success in the class.

· Sete Gibernau, who won here in 2004, has failed to qualify on the front row of the grid for the first time since Motegi last year.

· Colin Edwards has finished in the points at every race since he was second at Qatar in 2004, a run of 22 successive point scoring finishes.


Other updates you may be interested in ›