Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Italian riders dominate MotoGP

Italian riders dominate MotoGP

Italian riders dominate MotoGP

The last time a non-Italian rider won a MotoGP race was Nicky Hayden at the USA Grand Prix at Laguna Seca last year. Since then Italian riders have won twelve successive races with Valentino Rossi owning six, Loris Capirossi and Marco Melandri each having taken three wins. This is the longest run of successive victories by riders from one nation since the USA scored twelve wins in a row in the 1989/90 seasons. The longest ever streak of successive wins by a Nation is the 28 victories by the USA in the 1982/83/84/85 seasons. The following table lists the occasions when a nation has had twelve or more successive victories in the premier-class:

Longest string of successive premier-class wins by nation
Victories Nation Years Riders (number of wins in brackets)

28 USA 1982/83/84/85 Spencer (13), Roberts (6), Lawson (5), Mamola (4)

21 Italy 1968/69 Agostini (20), Pagani (1)

19 Italy 1970/71 Agostini (18), Bergamonti (1)

16 GB 1958/59/60 Surtees (15), Duke (1)

15 GB 1963/64 Hailwood (13), Hartle (1), Read (1)

12 Italy 1972 Agostini (11), Pagani (1)

12 USA 1989/90 Schwantz (5), Rainey (4), Lawson (3)

12 Italy 2005/06 Rossi (6), Capirossi (3), Melandri (3)


Other updates you may be interested in ›