New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Takahashi scores 200th Honda 250 GP victory

Takahashi scores 200th Honda 250 GP victory

Takahashi scores 200th Honda 250 GP victory

As Yuki Takahashi crossed the line here at The Sachsenring, to notch up Honda's 200th win in the 250cc class, there were a few old faces who remembered his namesake Kunimitsu Takahashi crossing the finish line at Hockenheim in 1961 to record Honda's first ever win in the class.

"It's incredible! Another rider named Takahashi won the first 250cc GP for Honda in 1961 and I clinched the 200th success for the company here. This gives me great satisfaction." Said the young Japanese Humangest Honda star.

Few would have believed that in the space of just 45 years Honda would accumulate 200 Grand Prix wins in the 250cc class, especially as the factory withdrew from the class for 18 of those years. Despite the attentions of rival factories, some big, some small, few were even remotely as successful as Honda over such a long period of time.

Not only are there the 15 World Championships, but 19 Constructor's titles too, and a record of 19 wins in succession from Takahashi's opening win of the 1961 season to Jim Redman's victory at Monza, Italy at the end of the 1962 season.

From multi-cylinder four-strokes to beautifully effective two-strokes, Honda has left its indelible stamp on the 250cc class.

250cc, 2006, MOTORRAD GRAND PRIX DEUTSCHLAND, Yuki Takahashi

Other updates you may be interested in ›