New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Honda: 200 not out

Honda: 200 not out

Honda: 200 not out

Honda reached a new milestone back at this year's TT Assen, thanks to American rider Nicky Hayden. The factory team man and championship leader took the 200th victory for the Japanese company. reviews some of the key dates in Honda history on the road to the historic achievement.

- 1966: Honda debut in the 500c World Championship with the four-stroke RC181.
Jim Redman earns the first victory for a RC181 rider at Hockenheim.
Mike Hailwood dominates the Senior TT.
Honda win the Constructors Championship.
- 1967: Mike Hailwood repeats his Senior TT win.

-1982: Honda return to the 500cc scene. They do so with the V3 NS500.
Freddie Spencer takes third at the Argentine Grand Prix in Buenos Aires, on the bike's debut outing.

- 1983: Freddie Spencer lifts the 500cc World Title trophy, whilst Honda win the Constructors Championship.

- 1984: Honda release the V4 NSR500, which houses the cylinders behind the engine.

- 1985: Freddie Spencer wins the title and Honda reign supreme as top constructor.

- 1987: Wayne Gardner is crowned World Champion.

1989: Eddie Lawson, takes the title onboard the NSR500. 1992: Honda are 500cc Constructors champions.

1994: Michael Doohan, behind the bars of the Honda NSR500, earns the first of five consecutive rider and constructors titles.

1999: Alex Crivillé takes individual and constructors titles for Honda.

2001: Valentino Rossi completes another double for the factory.

2002: Honda introduce the four-stroke RC211V.

Valentino Rossi uses the bike to repeat his and Honda's 2001 success.

2003: Valentino Rossi makes it three in a row onboard the RC211V .

2004: Honda take Constructors glory with their still-competitive bike.

2006: Nicky Hayden takes victory number 200 in the premier class at Assen.

200 Honda Victories: How They Added Up:

54 - Mick Doohan
33 - Valentino Rossi
20 - Freddie Spencer
18 - Wayne Gardner
15 - Alex Crivillé
8 - Sete Gibernau, Mike Hailwood
6 - Alex Barros
5 - Max Biaggi
4 - Eddie Lawson, Randy Mamola, Marco Melandri, Tady Okada
2 - Luca Cadalora, Carlos Checa, Jim Redman, Makoto Tamada, Nicky Hayden.
1 - Daryl Beattie, Loris Capirossi, Pier-Francesco Chili, Takazumi Katayama, Dani Pedrosa, Alberto Puig, Tohru Ukawa.

MotoGP, 2006

Other updates you may be interested in ›