New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

Interesting facts before the MotoGP race

· Valentino Rossi starts from pole for the third time in 2006.

· From the twelve previous times that Rossi has started on pole in the premier-class riding a Yamaha, he has gone on to win on ten occasions.

· Nicky Hayden is starting from the front row for just the third time in 2006.

· Hayden has finished fourth on each of his three previous visits to Sepang.

· Loris Capirossi has finished on the podium on each of the previous four occasions that he has been on the front row this year.

· Kenny Roberts, who won at Sepang in both 1999 and 2000, also had his best dry weather result of 2005 here, finishing in seventh place.

· Dani Pedrosa has had two victories here in the smaller classes; in the 125cc class in 2003 and in the 250cc class in 2004.

· Sete Gibernau is starting from his best grid position since taking pole at Mugello in June.

· Randy de Puniet has qualified higher than Kawasaki team-mate Shinya Nakano for the third time in 2006.

· Nakano is starting from his worst grid position since he was 14th on the grid at Motegi last year.

· John Hopkins has scored more points during the last nine races than he did throughout 2005.

· Sepang is the only circuit on the current calendar that Marco Melandri has not had a podium finish in any class.

· If either Casey Stoner or Dani Pedrosa were to win they would become the youngest ever rider to take victory in three different classes at the same circuit, taking the record from Mike Hailwood, who won the 125cc, 250cc and 500cc classes at the Isle of Man TT races in 1961.

· Colin Edwards has scored points at the last 33 successive races. The only rider with a longer sequence is Mick Doohan, with 37.

· Toni Elias had three podium finishes at Sepang when riding in the 250cc class, including a victory from pole in 2003, when he also set a new lap record.

· Carlos Checa has finished in the top ten in each of the seven previous races at Sepang, including three podiums.


Other updates you may be interested in ›