New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Catalunya voted Best Grand Prix of 2006

Catalunya voted Best Grand Prix of 2006

The Gran Premi de Catalunya has been named 'Best Grand Prix of 2006' following a poll of IRTA teams.

The Gran Premi de Catalunya has been named 'Best Grand Prix of 2006' following a poll of IRTA teams. This is the third such success for the circuit's race organizers, as the coveted IRTA Trophy was also theirs in 1992 when the event was run as The Grand Prix of Europe, while the Catalunya GP of 2001 also took the same award.

The three winning nominations over a 14-year period underline the professionalism of the race organisation's staff at the Montmelo circuit, on the outskirts of Barcelona - which hosts the event attended by thousands of fanatical supporters each season.

In order to win their third IRTA Trophy, Catalunya had to fend off similarly strong claims for the prize by The Czech Grand Prix and Gran Premio de la Comunitat Valenciana, who came second and third respectively in the IRTA poll.

IRTA President Herve Poncharal noted that the top three nominees were separated by the closest of margins and commented: "I have been impressed by the intense competition among circuits to win the IRTA Trophy and the fact that the high standards set in recent years have been maintained and improved upon."

"Voting was very close, with just a few points between first place and third. With this third IRTA Trophy in 14 years Catalunya has shown a consistent progressive approach to developing both better on-track safety conditions and human resources and we congratulate President Fidel Sust and all staff concerned with running the event at Montmelo. We look forward to another mutually successful event in 2007."

Catalunya has consistently set the highest standards for itself and has always been a contender for the trophy since the 4.727km circuit was firmly established as a Grand Prix venue in 1992.

The battle for the ‘Best Grand Prix' award intensifies every year, with every aspect of the event taken into account. Rider safety, trackside officials and medical facilities are amongst the categories IRTA members consider when casting their votes.

Catalunya circuit Director Fidel Sust and described the satisfaction the award will bring to his staff, saying: "We are very happy to have won the IRTA Trophy for the best grand prix of last season. For us to win this prestigious trophy three times over such a short period of time is a great reward for everybody involved with the event and we wish to thank IRTA and the teams for giving us this accolade. We are all very proud to receive this Trophy but we will not relax. We have set high standards and will continue to do so."

IRTA Trophy Roll of Honour

1984 Silverstone GB
1985 Hockenheim Germany
1986 Nurburgring Germany
1987 Assen Netherlands
1988 Suzuka Japan
1989 Donington Park GB
1990 Jerez Spain
1991 Donington Park GB
1992 Catalunya Spain
1993 Eastern Creek Australia
1994 Eastern Creek Australia
1995 Mugello Italy
1996 Mugello Italy
1997 Mugello Italy
1998 Phillip Island Australia
1999 Brno Czech Republic
2000 Mugello Italy
2001 Catalunya Spain
2002 Valencia Spain
2003 Valencia Spain
2004 Brno Czech Republic
2005 Valencia Spain
2006 Catalunya Spain

MotoGP, 2007

Other updates you may be interested in ›