New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Barbera wraps up 250cc preseason in Qatar

Barbera wraps up 250cc preseason in Qatar

Hector Barbera concluded the 250cc preseason by topping the board at the Official Test in Qatar.

Hector Barbera concluded the 250cc preseason by topping the board at the Official Test in Qatar. The Spaniard undertook the most laps of the Losail International Circuit alongside Andrea Dovizioso, going round the track 44 times before the conclusion of the session. Barbera's timesheet-topping lap was clocked at 2'00.258, less than a tenth of a second faster than nearest rival Alex de Angelis.

Yesterday's fastest rider, Alvaro Bautista was just under seven hundredths of a second behind his Master MVA Aspar team-mate. The reigning 125cc World Champion crashed three times today, although without suffering any damage.

Jorge Lorenzo was the only other rider to go round in under 2'01, as he and his mechanics continued to assess the best chassis to use for the season curtain-raiser. Unhappy with his performance yesterday, the 250cc title holder was another rider to spend 40+ laps on track.

Roberto Locatelli and Dovizioso completed the top six, ahead of Mika Kallio, Hiroshi Aoyama, Thomas Luthi and Shuhei Aoyama. The older of the two Aoyama brothers, Hiroshi also suffered a small crash, again without any ill-effects.

Arturo Tizon was the only other rider to see his progress set back, having been taken to hospital for scans on his wrist. After x-rays came back showing no breakage, the injury was swiftly bandaged and Tizon avoided an overnight stay.

MotoGP Official Test Qatar: 250cc

Day Two Official Times

1. H. BARBERA - Toth Aprilia 2.00.258
2. A. DE ANGELIS - Master MVA Aspar 2.00.315
3. A. BAUTISTA - Master MVA Aspar 2.00.322
4. J. LORENZO - Fortuna Aprilia 2.00.985
5. R. LOCATELLI - Metis Gilera 2.01.004
6. A. DOVIZIOSO - Humangest Racing 2.01.068
7. M. KALLIO - Red Bull KTM 2.01.251
8. H. AOYAMA - Red Bull KTM 2.01.430
9. T. LUTHI - Emmi Caffe Latte 2.01.787
10. S. AOYAMA - Repsol Honda 2.01.924
11. M. SIMONCELLI - Metis Gilera 2.01.933
12. Y. TAKAHASHI - Humangest Racing 2.02.400
13. F. LAI - Campetella Racing 2.02.878
14. J. CLUZEL - Angaia Racing 2.03.233
15. A. WEST - Team Sicilia 2.03.427
16. D. HEIDOLF - Kiefer Bos Sotin Racing 2.03.799
17. A. BALDOLINI - Kiefer Bos Sotin Racing 2.03.861
18. A. ESPARGARO - Blusens Aprilia 2.03.989
19. R. WILAIROT - Thai Honda PTT SAG 2.04.073
20. K. ABRAHAM - Cardion AB Motoracing 2.04.465
21. I. TOTH - Toth Aprilia 2.04.645
22. E. LAVERTY - Honda LCR 2.04.697
23. T. SEKIGUCHI - Campetella Racing 2.05.034

250cc, 2007, Hector Barbera

Other updates you may be interested in ›