New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Mugello's greatest hits

Mugello's greatest hits

21 editions of the Italian Grand Prix have taken place at the Mugello circuit, with this race the seventeenth consecutive appearance for the track in the MotoGP calendar.

21 editions of the Italian Grand Prix have taken place at the Mugello circuit, with this race the seventeenth consecutive appearance for the track in the MotoGP calendar. Mugello has had more than its fair share of great races, with some of the most notable listed below in chronological order.

1976 – The first time a Grand Prix event was held at Mugello. The premier class race was won by Barry Sheene, riding a Suzuki, by a margin of 0.1 sec from Phil Read in one of the closest finishes of all time, in a race lasting over 62 minutes. This was at a time when Suzuki riders dominated the premier-class; the first non-Suzuki rider home was Waerum Borge Nielsen in tenth place riding a Yamaha.

1978 – Kork Ballington won both the 250cc and 350cc races after tremendous battles in both with his Kawasaki team-mate Gregg Hansford. In the 350cc race just 0.4 seconds separated the duo at the end of the 25 laps, while in the 250cc race they were so close at the finish that they could not be separated by the timekeepers and were therefore credited with the same race time in the official results.

1992 – Kevin Schwantz became the second Suzuki rider to win at Mugello. This was the last time a Suzuki rider took victory at the Mugello circuit.

1995 – Max Biaggi won the 250cc race riding an Aprilia, the Italian manufacturer's first win at the Mugello circuit. Aprilia have since taken a further 15 victories at Mugello; seven in 125cc and eight in 250cc.

1997 – Valentino Rossi won the 125cc race riding an Aprilia – the first of seven victories at the Mugello circuit, more than any other rider across all classes of Grand Prix racing.

1998 – Mick Doohan thundered to an Italian triumph riding a Honda for the sixth successive year, giving him more premier-class victories at Mugello than any other rider. Marcellino Lucchi won the 250cc race as a wild-card rider at the age of 41.

2000 – Home fans went home happy at the first Italian Grand Prix of the millennium, as Loris Capirossi became the first Italian rider ever to win a 500cc Grand Prix race at the Mugello circuit.

2001 – Alex Barros won the last ever 500cc race at Mugello. The race was run in two parts after the first race was stopped after eight laps due to rain.

2002 –Valentino Rossi scored the first of his five victories in the premier class to become the first rider to win in all three classes at the Italian circuit.

2003 – Valentino Rossi won the MotoGP race from Loris Capirossi and Max Biaggi in the first all-Italian podium in the premier class at Mugello. This also made Italy the most successful nation in the top category with 151 victories, one more than the USA.

2004 – Valentino Rossi's victory on a Yamaha ended a run of eleven successive years of Honda glory at Mugello.

2005 – Italian riders filled the top four places in the MotoGP race. This was the first time in a premier class Grand Prix since 1968 that Italian riders had achieved the historic quartet.

2006 – Valentino Rossi won after a tremendous race which at times involved six riders battling for the lead. This was Rossi's 55th Grand Prix win in the premier-class making him the second most successful of all time with one win more than Mick Doohan.


Other updates you may be interested in ›