New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Malaysian Grand Prix history

Malaysian Grand Prix history

This weekend will see the 17th staging of the Malaysian Grand Prix, the event having taken place every year since its inauguration in 1991.

This weekend will see the 17th staging of the Malaysian Grand Prix, the event having taken place every year since its inauguration in 1991. In the following summary details the history of Grand Prix racing in Malaysia, with races having taken place at three different venues: Shah Alam, Johor and Sepang.

1991 – Shah Alam: The first Malaysian Grand Prix saw a debut win in the premier-class for John Kocinski riding a Yamaha. Italian riders dominated the smaller classes with Luca Cadalora winning the 250cc race and Loris Capirossi the 125cc class.

1992 – Shah Alam: Mick Doohan won the 500cc race by more than ten seconds from great rival Wayne Rainey. Alex Criville finished third - his first podium finish in the 500cc class in only his third start. Cadalora repeated his victory of the previous year in the 250cc class, while the 125cc race was won by Alessandro Gramigni on his way to becoming the first rider to win a world title riding an Aprilia.

1993 – Shah Alam: Rainey scored a clear start-to-finish victory in the 500cc race ahead of Daryl Beattie and Kevin Schwantz. There was controversy in the 250cc race when six riders were adjudged to have jumped the start and were given a one minute penalty, with the final result being the first ever all Japanese podium in the class with Nobuatsu Aoki scoring his only Grand Prix victory from Tetsuya Harada and Tadayuki Okada.

1994 – Shah Alam: Doohan took a comfortable victory by more than five seconds from Kocinski and Shinichi Itoh. Max Biaggi scored the first of four successive victories in the 250cc class.

1995 – Shah Alam: Doohan took his third victory in Malaysia from fellow Australian Daryl Beattie. Garry McCoy had his first ever Grand Prix victory in the 125cc class for which he was awarded half points due to the race being stopped after twelve laps when it started to rain.

1996 – Shah Alam: Cadalora won the opening 500cc race of the year on his debut, riding a Honda prepared by Erv Kanemoto, after Okada had claimed pole position on the debut of the V-twin Honda 500cc two-stroke.

1997 – Shah Alam: This was the seventh and final visit to the Shah Alam circuit and both Doohan and Biaggi won for the fourth time in their respective classes. Valentino Rossi won the 125cc race on his way to taking his first world title.

1998 – Johor: The one and only visit by the Grand Prix riders to the Johor circuit resulted in another victory for Doohan on his way to the last of his five world titles.

1999 – Sepang: On the first visit to the Sepang circuit Kenny Roberts won on his debut on the factory Suzuki. Capirossi started the defence of his 250cc title with a narrow victory from Tohru Ukawa. Current Bridgestone engineer Masao Azuma won the 125cc race riding a Honda shod with Bridgestone tyres. To see highlights from the 1999 500cc race follow the video link on the left.

2000 – Sepang: Roberts repeated his victory of the previous year on his way to taking the 500cc world title.

2001 – Sepang: Rossi won the last 500cc race to be held at the Sepang circuit. Daijiro Kato took the victory in the 250cc class to clinch the world title.

2002 – Sepang: Biaggi riding a Yamaha won the first race at Sepang of the four-stroke MotoGP era from great rival Rossi. To see highlights from this race follow the video link on the left.

2003 – Sepang: Rossi riding a Honda won the MotoGP race to clinch his third premier-class title. Dani Pedrosa won the 125cc race to take his first world title at the age of 18.

2004 – Sepang: Rossi repeated the victory of the previous year but this time on a Yamaha. Andrea Dovizioso clinched the world title by finishing second in the 125cc race behind Casey Stoner - who scored the first ever Grand prix victory for KTM.

2005 – Sepang: Capirossi won the race with team-mate Carlos Checa finishing third - the first time that Ducati had two riders on a MotoGP podium. Rossi finished second to clinch his fifth world title in the premier-class. Stoner won the 250cc race after championship leader Pedrosa had crashed on lap two.

2006 – Sepang: Rossi took the victory after a race long battle with compatriot Capirossi. The grid positions had been decided by the times in the free-practice sessions after torrential rain had flooded the circuit causing the MotoGP qualifying session to be cancelled. To see highlights from this race follow the video link on the left.


Other updates you may be interested in ›