New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

A look at the Catalunya history books

A look at the Catalunya history books

This will be the seventeenth consecutive year that the Circuit de Catalunya has been used since it was first included in the World Championship in 1992. takes a look back over the history of Grand Prix racing at the Circuit de Catalunya, at Montmelo, just outside Barcelona. The accompanying video covers the highlights of GP racing at the track from 2002-06.

1992 – The very first 500cc race at the Catalunya circuit had representatives from three different manufacturers on the podium with Wayne Rainey, riding a Yamaha, winning from Mick Doohan on a Honda and Doug Chandler on a Suzuki. The 250cc podium was an all Italian affair with Luca Cadalora winning from Loris Reggiani and 20 year-old Max Biaggi, who had started from pole for the first time in his GP career.

1993 – For the second successive year three manufacturers were represented on the 500cc podium, with the top two being the same as 1992 but this time followed home by Kevin Schwantz riding a Suzuki. Max Biaggi won the 250cc race, his only win of the year riding an Erv Kanemoto prepared Honda.

1994 – A third successive victory for Yamaha in the 500cc race, this time ridden by Luca Cadalora, with Doohan finishing second for the third successive year. Biaggi again took the 250cc victory sharing the podium with fellow Italians Loris Capirossi and Doriano Romboni.

1995 – Alex Criville won the 500cc race to become the first Spanish rider to win a Grand Prix at the Catalunya circuit. Biaggi won the 250cc race for the third year in succession.

1996 – For the second year in succession a Spanish rider won the 500cc race; this time Carlos Checa taking his first ever Grand Prix victory, with Mick Doohan finishing second for the fourth time at the circuit. This was the 100th Grand Prix victory for Honda in the 500cc class and was also their most dominant performance ever in the premier-class with the first eight riders across the line riding Honda machinery. Once again the 250cc race was won by Biaggi riding an Aprilia.

1997 – Doohan took his first win at the Catalunya circuit after a race long battle with the two home town heroes Checa and Criville. Ralph Waldmann beat the previously dominant Biaggi in the 250cc race, after running off the track in the early stages of the race and dropping down to ninth before fighting his way through the field. Valentino Rossi took the first victory in the 125cc class for Aprilia at the Catalunya circuit on his way to taking his first world title.

1998 – Doohan ended up the victor after crossing the line behind Biaggi who was subsequently disqualified for ignoring first a stop-and-go penalty and then a black flag, for passing while yellow flags had been displayed on the second lap. Valentino Rossi won the 250cc race in front of his Aprilia team-mates Tetsuya Harada and Capirossi.

1999 – Criville repeated his victory of 1995 after a race long battle with team-mate Tady Okada, who he finally beat by just 0.061 sec with the third Honda works rider Sete Gibernau filling the final podium slot on only his second ride on the V4 Honda. Rossi repeated his 250cc victory of the year before, on his way to taking the world title.

2000 – Kenny Roberts gave Suzuki its first ever victory at the Catalunya circuit in a race run in wet conditions throughout. Olivier Jacque gave Yamaha its only victory in the 250cc class at the Catalunya circuit.

2001 – Rossi wins the last 500cc race at the Catalunya circuit in front of his great rival Biaggi. With this victory Rossi became the first rider to win in all three classes at this circuit.

2002 – Rossi won the first ever MotoGP race at the Catalunya circuit in front of team-mate Tohru Ukawa.

2003 – An historic win for Capirossi, giving Ducati their first ever victory in the premier-class of Grand Prix racing and the first in any class since Mike Hailwood won the 125cc race at the Ulster GP of 1959. Dani Pedrosa became the first Spanish rider to win the 125cc GP race at the Catalunya circuit.

2004 – Rossi gave Yamaha their first premier-class victory at the Catalunya circuit since Cadalora in 1994. Marco Melandri's third place finish was his first ever podium on a MotoGP machine.

2005 –Rossi wins at the Catalan circuit for the fourth time in the premier-class in front of local hero Gibernau. The 250cc race resulted in the first ever all teenage podium in the class; Pedrosa, Casey Stoner and Andrea Dovizioso. Pedrosa's victory was the first in the 250cc class at the Catalunya circuit for a Spanish rider.

2006 – Another victory for Rossi in a race that had to be re-started after a multi-rider crash at the first corner which eliminated Capirossi, Gibernau and Melandri.

On Wednesday, will bring you detailled highlights of the 2007 edition of the Catalan GP which saw Stoner, Rossi and Pedrosa dicing for the win.


Other updates you may be interested in ›