New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Past MotoGP World Champions honoured at Donington

Past MotoGP World Champions honoured at Donington

As part of MotoGP´s 60th season celebrations, ‘MotoGP Champions Towers´ will be handed out during the remainder of year to all past winners of the MotoGP World Championship, formerly known as the 500cc World Championship.

The first of these ceremonies took place at the Donington Park circuit today. Receiving the awards were Phil Read (Champion in 1973-1974), Mike Hailwood (1962-1963-1964-1965) represented by his son Dave, and the first ever MotoGP World Champion Les Graham (1949) represented by his son Stuart.

Presenting the awards were Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports, and the FIM Road-racing Commission President Claude Danis.

Mr. Ezpeleta explained, `For us, much of the success of MotoGP is down to its tradition and history and in the 60th season of the championship we wanted to honour the former champions who have shaped the sport we know today. We chose Britain as the first place to do this as it is the spiritual home of the sport, where the first 500cc race took place on the Isle of Man Mountain course on June 17th, 1949.´

Meanwhile, Phil Read commented, `It´s a real honour for me to receive this trophy. It´s great that the heroes of the past can be recognised in this modern age, and to see all those names together on the trophy is a reminder of the great history of this sport.´

Other British winners, John Surtees (1956-1958-1959-1960) and Geoff Duke (1951-1953-1954-1955) were unable to attend but will still receive the trophy. The trophy for Barry Sheene (1976-1977) will be presented to his family now resident in Australia.


Other updates you may be interested in ›