New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers for the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix

Racing Numbers for the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix

American sport is renowned for its attention to statistics, and the Racing Numbers for this weekend aim to satisfy the thirst for trends and trivia.

99 - Shinya Nakano´s ninth place in Germany was his 99th point scoring finish in the premier class of Grand Prix racing. A top fifteen result at Laguna Seca and he will become the 13th rider in the 60 year history of GP racing to reach the milestone of 100 point scoring finishes in the premier class, the others who have achieved this are; Barros, Checa, Capirossi, Rossi, Doohan, Roberts Jr., Abe, Gibernau, Criville, Lawson, Mamola and Biaggi.

34 - Following the German GP there have been 34 MotoGP races without a winner from the USA, since Nicky Hayden won at Laguna Seca two years ago.

20 - After the first ten races of the year the top three riders in the MotoGP championship standings are covered by just 20 points. This is the closest title battle at this stage of the season since 1998, when 13 points separated Max Biaggi, Alex Criville and Mick Doohan at the top of the championship classification after the first 10 races.

16 - Casey Stoner´s win in Germany was the 16th victory for Australian riders in the four-stroke MotoGP era, the same number of wins as achieved by Spanish riders. Italian riders have been the most successful in this period with 69 victories.

7 - On seven occasions in the first ten races of the year there have been three different manufacturers represented on the podium in MotoGP, including at the last five races.

5 - Laguna Seca is one of just five current circuits where Valentino Rossi has not started from pole in the premier-class. The others are; Sachsenring, Motegi, Misano and Indianapolis (being used for the first time this year).

3 - Following his win in Germany, Casey Stoner has equalled his 2007 achievement of winning three successive races from pole and putting in the fastest lap in all three races. If he repeats this dominance at Laguna Seca, he will become the first rider since Giacomo Agostini more than 35 years ago to win four successive races from pole whilst also setting the fastest lap of the race.

2 - With Dani Pedrosa crashing out of the race in Germany there are now just two riders who have scored points in all ten MotoGP races held so far this year: Valentino Rossi and Shinya Nakano.


Other updates you may be interested in ›