New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

American World Champions honoured at Laguna

American World Champions honoured at Laguna

A very special presentation took place on Friday at the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix, as the seven Americans who have won World titles in the premier class were honoured for their achievements.

In a crowded press conference in the media centre of the Laguna Seca circuit on Friday a unique gathering of the seven American men to have won premier class World Championships took place in celebration of the 60th season of MotoGP.

Some of the most illustrious names in the history of the sport were presented with replica trophies by Dorna Sports CEO Mr. Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM Roadracing Commission President Claude Danis, marking their respective achievements.

The seven American MotoGP World Champions honoured were Eddie Lawson, Wayne Rainey, Kenny Roberts Snr, Kevin Schwantz, Freddie Spencer, Kenny Roberts Jnr and Nicky Hayden – a remarkable group of riders who in total have 15 MotoGP titles to their names.

Commenting on the event Mr Ezpeleta said, `I want to thank all of these great riders for being here today. It is a real pleasure to present them with these trophies on behalf of Dorna and the FIM. We are very proud of the heritage of the World Championship and these riders have played a huge role in the history of our sport.´


Other updates you may be interested in ›