Tickets purchase
Videopass purchase

Lawson to be honoured as a MotoGP Legend at Laguna Seca

Lawson to be honoured as a MotoGP Legend at Laguna Seca

American rider Eddie Lawson will be nominated as a MotoGP Legend and inducted as a member of the MotoGP Hall of Fame at Laguna Seca later this week, during the Red Bull US Grand Prix. Eddie Lawson clinched four 500cc World Championships (1984, 1986, 1988 an 1989) and scored 31 wins in the premier class (on three different makes: Yamaha, Honda and Cagiva).

Lawson will be the 17th MotoGP Legend. The MotoGP Hall of Fame was created to pay homage to the people who make up the history of the oldest motorsports World Championship, its first edition having taken place back in 1949. Since its launch in 2000, a series of exceptional riders from Grand Prix racing have been nominated as MotoGP Legends and inducted as members of the MotoGP Hall of Fame. Each of them has had an induction ceremony at one of the GPs, at which a unique silver medal recognizing the honour is presented to the new member.

The members inducted in this exclusive club so far are Daijiro Kato, Mick Doohan, Giacomo Agostini, Angel Nieto, Mike Hailwood, Kenny Roberts, Kevin Schwantz, Wayne Rainey, Carlo Ubbiali, Freddie Spencer, Anton Mang, Wayne Gardner, Barry Sheene, Geoff Duke, Phil Read and John Surtees.

MotoGP, 2005, Eddie Lawson

Other updates you may be interested in ›