New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing numbers for the A-Style Grand Prix of Japan

Racing numbers for the A-Style Grand Prix of Japan

This weekend´s race at Motegi is littered with figures regarding the title chase, and also some intriguing figures in the latest Racing Numbers.

3000 – If Loris Capirossi finishes in the top three at Motegi it would be his 100th podium finish in Grand Prix racing and he would also become just the second rider to pass the milestone of 3000 career points.

135.508 km/h – The Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix had the lowest average speed for a MotoGP race since the very wet race at Donington in 2005, an event won by Valentino Rossi at an average of 132.131 km/h.

69 – Valentino Rossi´s victory at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix was his 69th victory in the premier class, giving him the all-time record for most wins with one more than Giacomo Agostini.

11 – Race day in Japan will be the eleventh anniversary to the day of the legendary Jorge Martinez´ final appearance on a Grand Prix podium at the Indonesian GP at Sentul, a race won by Valentino Rossi -17 years younger than Martinez.

8 – At the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix Nicolas Terol became the eighth different winner this year in the 125cc class, with four races remaining. In the 60-year history of Grand Prix racing there have only twice been nine different winners in a season in the 125cc category; in 1996 and 2003.

6 – For the first time ever in a Grand Prix race the top six riders across the line in the 125cc race in Indianapolis were all under the age of 20.

6 – At the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix two Michelin riders finished together on the podium for the sixth time this year.

5 – Dani Pedrosa has not finished on the podium in the last five MotoGP races. This is the longest run of races without a top three finish for Pedrosa since he stepped onto the podium for the first time in the 125cc class at Valencia in 2001.

4 – Valentino Rossi´s sequence of four successive race wins is his longest run of wins since 2005, when he had five successive victories.


Other updates you may be interested in ›