New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Statistics from the 125cc Phillip Island grid

Statistics from the 125cc Phillip Island grid

A look down the starting grid in the single cylinder class at the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

- Mike di Meglio starts from pole for the second successive race after not qualifying on pole in his previous 87 Grand Prix starts.

- Bradley Smith starts from the front row for the ninth time in 2008 – more than any other rider in the 125cc class.

- Stefan Bradl has qualified on the front row for the third successive race and will be aiming to be the first German rider since Steve Jenkner in 2003 to have three successive podiums in the 125cc class.

- Nicolas Terol´s best result from his three previous visits to Phillip Island was eleventh in 2006.

- Andrea Iannone will be aiming to return to the podium for the first time since his win in China back in May.

- Sandro Cortese has finished in the top ten at the last nine successive races.

- If any Aprilia rider finishes in the top five in Australia then the Italian brand will win the 125cc Constructors title for the eighth time.

- Pablo Nieto is making his 156th Grand Prix start – the same number of starts in the 125cc class as his father Angel Nieto. Noboru Ueda is the only rider with more starts in the 125cc class with 160.


Other updates you may be interested in ›