New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP top four the big winners at 2008 FIM Awards

MotoGP top four the big winners at 2008 FIM Awards

It was Valentino Rossi, Casey Stoner, Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo who once again shared the spotlight at the FIM Awards, taking home the individual MotoGP honours.

The top four placing riders in the 2008 MotoGP standings took home the honours last Sunday´s FIM Awards, with prizes handed out not just four World Championship positions.

Clearly the star of the show, 2008 title winner Valentino Rossi was awarded with the 60th plate for the `Champions´ Tower´ trophy. The Italian accepted the prize onstage to cap a hugely successful year in the premier class, in which he took nine victories as part of a record sixteen podiums, and a new points benchmark of 373 points.

Rossi´s return to glory was momentous for more reasons for one; in taking his sixth crown he also beat the single season points record with 373, and became only the second rider to regain the title after a two-year drought.

Second in the championship in 2008, Casey Stoner took home not just the runner-up trophy but also the `Tissot Pole of Pole´s for the most pole positions (nine) in the season. The Australian´s qualifying exploits also earned him the prestigious BMW M Award, for which he had received the keys to a new sports car over the weekend.

Receiving the third-place honour was Repsol Honda´s Dani Pedrosa, himself a poleman on two occasions and a racewinner on a further two. The Spaniard had led the championship before crashing out of the German round of the series.

Pedrosa´s rival and Rossi´s teammate, Jorge Lorenzo was onstage sans his fetching gold jacket from 2007. The Fiat Yamaha rider had been unable to break into the top three in his first season in the premier class, but had beaten longtime rival Andrea Dovizioso to the Rookie of the Year award, which he collected on Sunday night. The Majorcan had also done his bit to give Yamaha the Constructors title.

FIM Awards 2008: Winners

MotoGP World Champion - Valentino Rossi
Runner-up - Casey Stoner
Third Placed - Dani Pedrosa
Rookie of the Year: - Jorge Lorenzo
Team World Champions: - Fiat Yamaha
Constructors World Champions: - Yamaha
Tissot Pole of Poles Winner: - Casey Stoner
BMW M Award Winner: - Casey Stoner

MotoGP, 2008

Other updates you may be interested in ›