New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Barberá fastest on opening night

Barberá fastest on opening night

Pepe World Team’s Héctor Barberá was the quickest 250cc rider on the opening night of the smaller class test in Qatar on Monday.

Héctor Barberá commenced this week’s work at the Losail International Circuit on Monday night in style, dominating the opening evening of 250cc testing with a best time of 2´00.545. It was a perfect statement of intent ahead of this weekend’s first GP of the season at the same venue, after the Spaniard crashed and hurt his knee in the Official Test at Jerez at the end of March.

Whilst Barberá cleared up doubts about his fitness, Marco Simoncelli’s title defence has been jeopardised by a motocross training accident at the weekend damaging the scaphoid bone in his right wrist, and he was a notable absence from the test. The Italian has had surgery on the injury early on Tuesday and could miss the start of the season.

Behind Barberá on the Losail Monday night test timesheet was another Spaniard Álvaro Bautista (Mapfre Aspar), though the latter was significantly more than half a second behind his compatriot.

The Czech rider Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing) and Japanese competitor Hiroshi Aoyama (Scot Racing) were the next two names on the timesheet, whilst Mattia Pasini (Team Toth Aprilia) completed the top five as the only other rider to go round under the 2’02 mark.

The second and final session of the test will take place on Tuesday evening, whilst 250cc practice for this weekend’s Commercialbank Grand Prix of Qatar commences at 9.30pm on Friday.

Monday night best times - 250cc Losail test
1. Hector BARBERA - 2’00.545
2. Alvaro BAUTISTA - 2’01.121
3. Karel ABRAHAM - 2’01.406
4. Hiroshi AOYAMA - 2’01.685
5. Mattia PASINI - 2’01.994
6. Thomas LUTHI - 2’02.085
7. Roberto LOCATELLI - 2’02.252
8. Gabor TALMACSI - 2’02.278
9. Alex DEBON - 2’02.442
10. Mike DI MEGLIO - 2’02.469
11. Lukas PESEK - 2’02.575
12. Ratthapark WILAIROT - 2’02.580
13. Hector FAUBEL - 2’02.991
14. Alex BALDOLINI - 2’03.150
15. Raffaele DE ROSA - 2’03.522
16. Jules CLUZEL - 2’03.839
17. Imre TOTH - 2’04.480
18. Shoya TOMIZAWA - 2’05.051
19. Axel PONS - 2’06.151

20. Bastien CHESAUX - 2’08.172
21. Vladimir LEONOV - 2’10.123
22. Aitor RODRIGUEZ - 2’11.578


Other updates you may be interested in ›