Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Commercialbank Grand Prix of Qatar racing numbers

Commercialbank Grand Prix of Qatar racing numbers

A selection of key numbers picked out by the statisticians ahead of the opening weekend of the 2009 MotoGP World Championship.

119 – Qatar will be the 119th MotoGP race since the advent of the four-stroke formula at the start of 2002. With Shinya Nakano moving away from MotoGP, Valentino Rossi is scheduled to become the only rider to have competed in all 119 races.

80% - The percentage of races won by either Casey Stoner or Valentino Rossi since the introduction of the 800cc limit for MotoGP machines at the start of the 2007 season. Between them they have won 29 of the 36 races that have taken place. The only other rider with more than a single MotoGP victory in this period is Dani Pedrosa with four wins. Chris Vermeulen, Jorge Lorenzo and Loris Capirossi have each had a single win.

21 years 47 weeks – The average age of the podium finishers in the MotoGP race in Qatar last year (Stoner/Lorenzo/Pedrosa) – the youngest premier-class podium of all time.

6 – This will be the sixth occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at the Losail International Circuit.

3 – Ducati riders have won the opening race of the year for the last 3 years – Loris Capirossi at Jerez in 2006 and Casey Stoner in Qatar for the last two years.


Other updates you may be interested in ›