New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

CEV Buckler: Viñales, Silva, Rodríguez and Smith win in Jerez

CEV Buckler: Viñales, Silva, Rodríguez and Smith win in Jerez

The second round of the 2009 National Spanish Championship (CEV Buckler) took place over the weekend in Andalusia.

The CEV Buckler’s visit to Jerez over the weekend saw youngster Maverick Viñales dominate the 125GP race from start to finish, an excellent performance from a rider who is barely 14 years-old.

Viñales got in front soon after the lights went out and none of his rivals were able to catch him, with a three-way fight going on behind him between Alberto Moncayo, Miguel Oliveira and Adrián Martín, eventually leading to crashes for Oliveira and Martín.

Iván Maestro, the only rider other than Viñales capable of dipping under the 1’50 barrier on lap times, rose through the field to eventually finish second, whilst Moncayo crossed the line third. Isaac Viñales was fourth and maintains the lead in the championship with a 10 point advantage over Maestro, 12 ahead of Moncayo.

In the Extreme/Moto2 category, Iván Silva scored a great win after an incident packed race, having dropped to 13th from pole after a disastrous start. Meanwhile, Aleix Espargaró made history by leading the race in his first ride on a Moto2 machine, impressing observers before unfortunately crashing.

A group of four riders, Carmelo Morales, Kenny Noyes, Javier del Amor and Jose D. de Gea, then enjoyed a great battle with constant changes of position. But behind them Silva was coming back strong and pushed his way through to take the lead late in the race.

Morales and Noyes duelled for the remaining two podium places right up until the last corner with the former eventually coming out on top and taking the lead in the standings in the process. Morales has a five point championship advantage over Jose Cardoso who was 11th in the Jerez race.

Dani Rivas’ performance on the Moto2 machine of the BQR team was worthy of note, finishing the race seventh and setting a fastest lap of 1’43:343, the same fastest race lap as set by Álvaro Bautista in the 250cc class of the World Championship at the Spanish circuit earlier this year.

In the Supersport class Ángel Rodríguez continues setting records, having achieved a ninth consecutive CEV Buckler victory, this time in front of Kev Coghlan and Adrián Bonastre. Rodríguez is the championship leader, 14 points in front of Bonastre and 17 better off than Coghlan.

The Kawasaki Ninja Cup saw Steven Trujillo dominate the weekend up until the race, crashing out when in the lead on the first lap after starting on pole. That crash left the doors open for Kyle Smith who took a comfortable win, ahead of standings leader Elena Rosell, who was second, and Argentine rider Marco Solorza, who was third.

For photos and more information visit

MotoGP, 2009

Other updates you may be interested in ›