New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Aprilia chasing Honda 125cc consecutive win marker

Aprilia chasing Honda 125cc consecutive win marker

Italian factory could equal long-standing winning streak of nine races at Assen.

The dominant factory in the 125cc class in the first third of 2009, lower cylinder category manufacturer Aprilia have a chance to continue an impressive run of victories at the Alice TT Assen.

Andrea Iannone’s win at the most recent round in Barcelona was the Italian factory’s eighth triumph on the trot -the longest series of uninterrupted wins in a decade. With riders such as the aforementioned Iannone, World Championship leader Julián Simón and title challenger Bradley Smith all likely to be pushing for glory in this weekend’s Dutch race, Aprilia have the odds of a ninth win heavily stacked in their favour.

If they could pull off the feat, it would be the first time since 1998/1999 that a factory had done so in the 125cc class. The last run of nine wins was by Honda, begun by Tomomi Manako at the 1998 German Grand Prix and ending with Mazao Azuma at the following year’s Spanish race. Honda also had a nine win series in 1994/1995, whilst MV Agusta did the same in 1955/1956.

There are, however, even lengthier precedents in the category, with ten or more wins in succession on six separate occasions. The longest series of victories is a massive nineteen for Honda, stretching from the Yugoslavian GP win for Stefan Prein in 1990 to Loris Capirossi’s glorious finale at the 1991 British round.

Longest consecutive win streaks in 125cc

19 Honda – 1990/91
17 Honda – 1992/93
13 Minarelli – 1978/79
12 Honda – 1961/62
Garelli – 1986/87
10 Mondial – 1949/50/51
9 Honda – 1994/95 and 1998/99
MV Agusta – 1955/56
8 Suzuki – 1963
Yamaha – 1972/73
Aprilia – 2008/09

125cc, 2009, ALICE TT ASSEN

Other updates you may be interested in ›