New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Changes to CEV Buckler championship announced

Changes to CEV Buckler championship announced

The CEV Buckler for 2010 will run 125GP, Moto2 and Stock Extreme classes, accompanied by the Kawasaki Ninja Cup.

In anticipation of the 2010 Spanish championship (CEV Buckler), the promoter (Dorna) and the Real Federación Motociclista Española (RFME) announce that the following categories will be in place:
- 125 GP
- Moto2
- Stock Extreme

As in 2009, the Kawasaki Ninja Cup will run alongside the aforementioned categories.

The 125GP class will continue in the same form as in the current season. 125cc bikes of Grand Prix standard will be required, and riders must be between 14 and 23 years-old.

In Moto2 the minimum age will be 15, and the bikes will require a Honda CBR 600 RR engine. The chassis must be a prototype, not derived from a production model, that conforms with the technical and safety regulations established by the FIM for their Grand Prix counterparts. The single tyre rule will also be in place. Any possibility of modification in engine parts will be heavily restricted.

The corresponding technical regulations for Moto2 will be published shortly.

Stock Extreme will comply with the FIM’s rules for Super Stock 1000, and participants from the age of 16 will be permitted.

For 2010 the CEV Buckler will thus run two classes that correspond with Grand Prix categories, and will establish a route for those that compete in the Spanish series to have more chance of an eventual World Championship ride.

MotoGP, 2009

Other updates you may be interested in ›